Christian Exhibition in Ouranoupoli


The 10th General Directorate of Byzantine Antiquities founded the exhibition “Christian Chalkidiki” in Ouranoupolis, Halkidiki, which is a village where visitors and pilgrims embark on Mount Athos. The exhibition is housed in a building near the boarding pass and the tower of Ouranoupolis. It was built in the 18th century and is known as the “boat-boat” or “house-boat”, and was formerly used by the monks of the Vatopedi monastery, of which it was owned.

The exhibits date back to the Early Christian, Byzantine and post-Byzantine periods and come from all over Halkidiki. The purpose of the exhibition is to show visitors that Halkidiki has several important treasures of the Christian era and the countless treasures belonging to the Monasteries of Mount Athos.

On the first floor there are 14 portable icons (11 major and 3 smaller) of the 18th and early 20th century, from monasteries, churches and chapels of Chalkidiki. Particular attention is paid to the icon of Panagia and Christ enthroned, which dates back to 1728. Also noteworthy are the folk-type frescoes detached from the sanctuary and prosthetic arches of the Chapel of St. Trinity, belonging to the Monastery of Ag. Anastasia (16th-17th century). Visitors can also admire a bronze cross of the 11th-12th century, a small bone blade of Christ of the 10th -11th century, and a service calendar for the September immovables that were created in 1806 and rescued in the area of ​​the open Cassandra prison.

On the second floor there are Christian finds from excavations made in Halkidiki: enamel pottery, uncoloured pottery, lamps, bronze coins, jewels, seals and arrow heads from Potidea, Toroni, Palaiokastro, Agios Mamas, New Sulla ), Galatista (the tomb of AgiaParaskevi), and the cemeteries of Ierissos. Other exhibits include the Corinthian and Ionian capitals and a perforated plate from the Early Christian Basilles of Sofronio and Ag. Georgiou in Nikiti.

Opening hours: 1 July – 31 October: 12.00-18.00 daily

Free entrance