Nea Olynthos

LocationNea Olynthos

Just a short distance from the provincial road of Nea Moudania-Gerakini lies Nea Olynthos. It is 25 kilometers away from Polygyros. It is in a lowland area and produces edible olive, peanut oil and pistachios. Apart from agriculture, livestock farming is also a major occupation.

Throughout the Ottoman domination the name of the village was Myriophytos and was administratively subordinated to the Kalamaria tribe. After 1922 many refugees from Eastern Thrace and Asia Minor were added to the few local residents and the village was renamed New Olynthos. Significant celebrations are celebrated on St. Athanasius (2 May), Saint George (April 23) and SaintAnargyroi (July 1st).

Olynthos is the historical capital of the Municipality of Polygyros. The tradition attributes the foundation of the city, as well as its name, to the hero Olynthos, the son of the river Strymon, while Herodotus reports that he was conquered by the Vottians of Imathia in the 7th century BC. when after their persecution by the Macedonians, they moved to Chalkidiki and settled on the South Hill. It was the capital of the Chalkidiki Confederation (Common Chalkidiki). It was eventually destroyed by Philip in 384 BC, while the Olynthian Reasons of Demosthenes remained famous against the threat of Philip.

Very close to the village, in 1928, American professor D. Robinson brought to light the ancient city of Olynthos after excavations. In the archaeological site of ancient Olynthos, the Archaeological Museum has been operating since 1998. The purpose of the museum is to give visitors a complete picture of the history of the ancient city and also to describe the excavations and restoration. All this is done exclusively by audiovisual media.