The Monastery of Zografou is the 9th in the hierarchy of the monasteries of Mount Athos. The Monastery has a set of 20-30 people. This monastery is worth seeing the katholikon with the unpainted icon of St. George, the monument of the 26 painter witnesses in the monastery’s courtyard as well as the library of the 12th-13th century parchment codes
Zografou Monastery is Bulgarian and is located on the north side and about the middle across of the Athonite peninsula. It is located in a valley and is surrounded by forest. It is connected to the Monastery of Kostamonitou with a forest path which has recently been prepared and marked. Walking lasts about 1.5 hours. You can also get to the Monastery starting from arsana where the ship departs from Ouranoupoli. There is an imposing tower in the arsanas, and there is also a ruined mill. The climb lasts about 1 hour.
Although in the first typical of Emperor Tsimiski (972) one of the then prominent men of Mount Athos signs as George the painter, who is alleged to be a demonstrator of his own property, according to tradition, his founders are considered to be three flesh-fallen monks , Moses, Aaron and John. In the 13th century. It was inhabited by Bulgarian monks. At the same time, the Bulgarian rulers John Kaliman (1192), Ivan Asen B (1218-1241) and the Emperor Michael P Paleologus were strengthened by the Bulgarian emperors, who became great benefactors of the monastery. At the beginning of the 14th century, was burned by the Catalans and later renovated by the emperor Andronikos Palaiologos and the rulers of Serbia and Moldavia. The katholikon of the monastery was rebuilt and painted in the early 19th century. There are 14 chapels in the monastery. In the library are handwritten codes, 162 in Greek, 388 in Slavic and 16,000 volumes of books in both languages.