The Holy Monastery was built by Osios Philotheos, a student of St. Athanasios of Athonite. On the days of Saint Philotheus there was a “small monastery of Fteri” – in the area of Kravatos – where today there is a chapel of Prophet Elias. Historically, it seems to be pre-existing in 1015 in a document of the “First”. It is dedicated to the “Evaggelismos” of the Virgin Mary, and it is alleged that Saint Dionysios the Olympus was praying for some time. The icon of Panagia Glykofillousa is popular. There is also the icon of the Virgin Mary of Gerontissa, which is said that it brought here in a miraculous way from Nigrita. As a great treasure it holds the right hand of St. John Chrysostom.
The monastery of Philotheos has nine chapels, of which six are inside the monastery. Of these, three are located in the Catholic. The first of the Archangels to the right of the Apertus with frescoes of 1752. The second of the “Genesio of Prodromos “on the left of the austere. The third one, Saint Marine, whose holy relics are kept in the monastery, in the bell tower. On the wings there are Agios Ioannis Chrysostomos in the synod, Agios Nikolaos in the Archontariki, and the holy five witnesses above the entrance of the monastery. Finally, outside of the monastery there are two chapels of the Three Hierarchs or Agios Tryfonas, of the Theotokos or Panagoudas, as well as the cemetery temple of Agioi Pantes.
In the monastery of Philotheos by the sea, flows the holy water of Virgin Mary of Glikofilousa. It is in the place where the abbot of the monastery, according to the tradition, saw the vision of Virgin Mary inviting him to bring her from the sea to the Monastery. Philotheou monastery has several Kellias, of which five are inhabited, Agios Georgios, Agios Konstantinos, Agia Triada, Agios Dimitrios and Analipseos.
In Karyes there is a delegation, a building of 1964 with a chapel of Kosmas Aitolos, an enslaved for Motherland .The unique “Kathisma” that the monastery owns is the historic and impressive cave of Saint Dionysios “of Olympus,” where he practiced before becoming the abbot of Philotheos.
In this monastery you have to see the katholikon with its frescoes (1752) and the “portrait” of Virgin Mary of Glykofilousa, the bank with its rich wall paintings and the rich and historical library of the monastery.